ESG transformation / Sustainability

ESG and sustain­ability are the new game-changers of our times. The expectations of society and policy­makers are growing. The capital market demands the ability to deliver on all ESG criteria and the pressure to transform is on the increase. Business needs to reposition and re-legitimise itself.
 

We assist companies in developing a sustain­ability profile with a clear stance and making it easily identifiable. We enable companies to enter into discourse in major sustain­ability debates in society so that they can credibly communicate their trans­formation to all stake­holders and address conflicting goals, all while being a part of the solution and making a clear contribution to over­coming major future challenges.
 

ESG transformation as an existential challenge for the reputation of corporations

Sustain­ability and ESG performance are critical to the success of a company’s overall reputation. In the absence of discernible progress in ESG performance, the risks for corporate activity rise. Social acceptance and the (social) licence to operate are jeopardised, the goodwill of policy­makers towards corporate goals fades, and so does the company’s attractive­ness as an invest­ment in capital markets. Last but not least, the employer brand and employee engage­ment are also at stake.

The disruptive power of ESG trans­formation is just as great as that of digitali­sation. Business models are being put under scrutiny, gover­nance structures and processes need to be radically trans­formed and corporate culture must be called into question. Much more so than with digitali­sation, however, the resulting strategic (re-)alignment must also be able to meet the high expectations of a critical public.

As part of a holistic approach, we develop content and concepts for effective ESG communications aimed at the critical public, policy­makers, the capital market, as well as managers and employees.
 

Companies have to address key questions in order to effectively communicate ESG trans­formation and sustain­ability

  • What are the opportunities and risks in balancing perceptions of ESG performance and material deliver­ability?
  • What does a robust ESG narrative look like that links the trans­formation of the business model and processes, as well as the company’s strengths and stance, to solutions to major challenges of the future?
  • How might a constructive discourse on conflicting goals and areas of tension linked to the necessary ESG-driven trans­formation be organised and moderated?
  • How should the relation­ship with policy­makers be rethought and translated into communi­cations that position companies in the dialogue as part of the solution and partners of policy-makers?
  • How can the company’s contribution be clearly and un­ambiguously communicated to the capital market and prominently displayed with regard to ESG criteria, assess­ments and goals?
  • How can a common under­standing be fostered among employees and managers regarding the company’s external aspirations and ESG goals? And how might integration and ex­change be organised for this purpose?
  • How can employees be motivated and empowered to convey the company’s commit­ment to sustain­ability to the public as authentic ambassadors?


Photo: iStock

Contact

Climate change is the new yardstick for political and economic action

read more
 

Purpose as the expression of a strategic paradigm shift

read more
 

Corporate credibility requires a solid thematic foundation

read more
 

Purpose development – solid groundwork trumps buzzword bingo

read more
 

Sustainability as a shared mission

read more

ESG-Transformation / Nachhaltigkeit

ESG und Nachhaltig­keit sind die neuen Game Changer unserer Zeit: Gesellschaft­liche und politische Erwartungen wachsen. Der Kapital­markt fordert Liefer­fähig­keit bei allen ESG-Kriterien. Der Trans­formations­druck steigt. Wirtschaft muss sich neu aufstellen und neu legitimieren!
 

Wir unter­stützen Unter­nehmen, ein Nachhaltig­keits­profil mit einer klaren Haltung zu entwickeln und erkennbar zu machen. Wir machen Unter­nehmen in den großen gesell­schaftlichen Nach­haltig­keits­debatten diskurs­fähig, um ihre eigene Trans­formation an alle Stake­holder glaubhaft zu vermitteln und Ziel­konflikte zu thematisieren – als Teil der Lösung und mit einem klaren Beitrag für große Zukunfts­fragen.
 


ESG-Transformation als existenzielle Heraus­forderung für die Unternehmens­reputation

Die disruptive Kraft der ESG-Transformation ist genauso massiv wie die der Digitalisierung. Geschäfts­modelle stehen auf dem Prüf­stand, Strukturen und Prozesse müssen grund­legend verändert werden, es gilt, die Unter­nehmens­kultur zu hinter­fragen. Viel stärker als bei der Digitalisierung muss jedoch die entsprechende strategische (Neu-)Ausrichtung auch den hohen Erwartungen einer kritischen Öffentlich­keit Stand halten.

Denn Fragen der Nach­haltigkeits- und ESG-Performance sind zunehmend erfolgs­kritisch für die gesamte Unter­nehmens­reputation. Ohne erkenn­bare Fortschritte in der ESG-Liefer­fähigkeit steigen die Risiken für unter­nehmerisches Handeln – die gesell­schaftliche Akzeptanz und die (Social) Licence to Operate sind gefährdet, der Good­will von Seiten der Politik für unter­nehmerische Ziele schwindet, genauso wie die Attrakti­vität als Invest­ment auf Kapital­märkten. Nicht zuletzt stehen die Employer Brand und das Employee Engagement auf dem Spiel.

Im Sinne eines 360°-Ansatzes gestalten wir inhaltlich und konzeptionell eine wirkungs­volle ESG-Kommunikation gegenüber der kritischen Öffentlich­keit, der Politik, dem Kapital­markt und den Führungs­kräften und Mitarbeiter:innen.


Unternehmen müssen für eine wirkungsvolle Kommunikation von ESG-Transformation und Nach­haltig­keit zentrale Fragen klären

  • Wo liegen Chancen und Risiken im Abgleich von Wahr­nehmung der ESG-Performance und der materiellen Liefer­fähig­keit?
  • Wie sieht ein starkes ESG-Narrativ aus, das die Trans­formation von Geschäfts­modell und Prozessen sowie die Stärken und die Haltung des Unter­nehmens in Bezug setzt zu den Lösungen der großen Zukunfts­fragen?
  • Wie kann ein konstruktiver Diskurs zu Ziel­konflikten und Spannungs­feldern, die mit der not­wendigen ESG-getriebenen Trans­formation zusammen­hängen, organisiert und moderiert werden?
  • Wie muss die Rolle gegenüber der Politik neu gedacht und in Kommunikation umgesetzt werden, um Unternehmen im Dialog als Teil der Lösung und Partner der Politik zu positionieren?
  • Wie lässt sich der Unternehmens­beitrag mit Blick auf ESG-Kriterien, -Bewer­tungen und -Ziele klar und un­miss­verständlich in Richtung Kapital­markt kommunizieren und prominent kenntlich machen?
  • Wie schafft man ein gemeinsames Verständnis bei Mit­arbeiter:innen und Führungs­kräften zu externen Anspruchs­haltungen und ESG-Zielen des Unter­nehmens? Und wie organisiert man hier Einbindung und Austausch?
  • Wie aktiviert und befähigt man Mit­arbeiter:innen, als authentische Bot­schafter:innen das Nach­haltig­keits­engagement des Unter­nehmens nach außen zu transportieren?


Foto: iStock

Ansprechpartner

Klimaschutz als neuer Maßstab für politisches und wirtschaftliches Handeln

weiterlesen
 

Purpose als Ausdruck eines strategischen Paradigmen­wechsels

weiterlesen
 

Ohne solides Themen­fundament keine Glaub­würdigkeit

weiterlesen
 

Purpose-Entwicklung: Solide Grundlagenarbeit schlägt Buzzword-Bingo

weiterlesen
 

Nachhaltigkeit als gemeinsame Mission

weiterlesen