Transformation to climate neutrality

Effective communi­cations for the path­way to zero

Achieving climate protection targets determines the political agenda; the trans­formation to green­house gas neutrality is a key driver for making dramatic changes to the way we live and work. Many companies have already begun to tackle the trans­formation of their business models, others are on their way and are developing the relevant strategies and road­maps. This mammoth task requires long-term thinking and action – and is charac­terised by con­sid­erable challenges in terms of communi­cations. Among them are a complex stake­holder en­viron­ment, massive pressure to be transparent and explain new policies, as well as high-octane debates with strong potential for esca­lation and scan­dali­sation, particu­larly in social media. This is frequently compounded by strong dependencies on other players since climate protection targets often cannot be achieved by a single company on its own. In order to success­fully implement a trans­formation to climate neutrality, well-planned, strategic and effective communi­cations are essential – we call it “WINNING GREEN”.

The starting points, external conditions and stake­holder expecta­tions on the path to climate neutrality – the “pathway to zero” – are different for each sector and each company. In addition, businesses are faced with a multitude of un­certainties, for example in terms of financial or techno­logical aspects. And there are also many questions left to be clarified for business leaders and communi­cations managers with regard to communi­cations strategy issues. Among the most important topics are:

POSITIONING: How can I create a strong profile for the company and its manage­ment in the opinion market as well as the political environment – also in relation to other market players or the relevant industry association?

ASPIRATION: What level of ambition am I building and how can I make my contribution to solving a socio-political issue palpable and demonstrate my innovative strength?

NARRATIVE: How can I create a long-term, standardised frame­work for communi­cations on trans­formation?

EXPECTATION MANAGEMENT: How can I organise a dialogue on targets and mile­stones, including potential conflicting targets and areas of tension?

TRANSPARENCY: How do I present the individual stages of implementation and hone my sustainability profile?

Over the next few years, communications will be a key driver for success on the pathway to climate neutrality for individual businesses as well as entire sectors. A communications strategy that consistently measures the company strategy with all its targets as well as challenges on the way to implementation against the socio-political reality and the different expectations of the relevant target groups, creates competitive advantages.

ACCEPTANCE: Open, target-oriented dialogue about objectives and the imple­men­tation path creates good will from politicians and fosters under­standing and appreciation from society – in this way companies safe­guard their licence to operate and create room to manoeuvre.

PROOF: A sustainability profile under­pinned by proof points protects against accusations of green­washing and creates trust – in this way companies also open up new financing potential from green invest­ments on the capital market.

ACTIVATION: Well-planned communications and targeted change manage­ment get managers and employees involved in shaping the trans­formation and drive the cultural change that is often needed within the companies; away from traditional engineering thinking towards a mindset that is open to new technologies and driven by sus­tain­ability – in this way companies bolster their ability to reinvent them­selves and their innovative strength.

ATTRACTIVITY: Strong socio-political credibility and a clear road­map with exciting, future-oriented and inter­national projects attract young talents to get on board and embark on the journey to a climate neutral future – this enhances companies’ repu­tations as employer brands.

Deekeling Arndt/AMO (DAA) has been supporting the trans­formation of companies and entire sectors in times of radical social and techno­logical change for many years – in terms of their positioning and shaping the dialogue in the political and pre-political spaces, among opinion leaders and on the capital market as well as in addressing and in­volving managers, employees and co-determination bodies. We have extensive experience in advising and supporting companies of all sizes and from different sectors, including energy, chemical, steel, automotive, environ­mental technology and transport, with their communi­cations strategies.

Photo: iStock.com/kirisa99

Contact

Olaf Arndt on communi­cations as a success factor for the Pathway to Zero

read more
 

Achieving climate neutrality independently

read more
 

Spotlight on the green taxonomy

read more
 

The Pathway to Zero as a new yardstick for political and economic action

read more
 

Sustainability as a shared mission

read more

Trans­formation zur Klima­neutralität

Wirkungsvolle Kommuni­kation für den Pathway to Zero

Die  Erreichung der Klima­schutz­ziele bestimmt die politische Agenda, die Trans­formation zur Treib­haus­gas­neutralität ist wesent­licher Treiber für ein­schneidende Ver­änderungen in Wirt­schaft und Gesell­schaft. Viele Unter­nehmen gehen bereits den not­wendigen Umbau ihrer Geschäfts­modelle beherzt an, andere sind auf dem Weg und entwickeln ihre Strategien und Road­maps. Diese Mammut­aufgabe erfordert lang­fristiges Denken und Handeln – und ist durch erhebliche kommuni­kative Heraus­forderungen gekenn­zeichnet: Ein komplexes Stake­holder­umfeld, massiver Transparenz- und Erklärungs­druck sowie hochtourige Debatten mit großem Eskalations- und Skanda­li­sierungs­potenzial, vor allem in den sozialen Medien. Hinzu kommen oft große Abhängig­keiten zu anderen Akteuren, da die Klima­schutz­ziele vielfach nicht allein realisier­bar sind. Um die Trans­formation zur Klima­neutralität erfolg­reich zu meistern, ist eine plan­volle, strategisch auf­gesetzte und wirkungs­voll umgesetzte Kommuni­kation essenziell – WINNING GREEN.

Die Start­punkte, Rahmen­bedingungen und Stakeholder-Erwartungen auf dem Weg zur Klimaneutralität – dem „Pathway to Zero“ – sind für jede Branche und für jedes Unter­nehmen verschieden. Dabei gibt es noch viele Unsicher­heiten, etwa in finan­zieller oder technolo­gischer Hinsicht. Aber genauso besteht für viele Unternehmens­lenker und Kommunika­tions­verant­wortliche noch erheblicher Klärungs­bedarf zu kommuni­kations­strategischen Frage­stellungen. Wichtige Themen­komplexe sind:

POSITIONIERUNG: Wie profiliere ich Unternehmen und Management im Meinungs­markt sowie im politischen Umfeld – auch im Verhältnis zu anderen Akteuren im Markt oder zum eigenen Branchen­verband?

ASPIRATION: Welches Ambitions­niveau baue ich auf, wie mache ich meinen gesell­schaft­lichen Problem­lösungs­beitrag erlebbar und zeige meine Innovations­fähigkeit?

NARRATIV: Wie schaffe ich ein einheit­liches Framing für die lang­fristige kommunikative Gestaltung der Trans­formation?

ERWARTUNGSMANAGEMENT: Wie organisiere ich einen Dialog zu Zielen und Meilen­steinen sowie den damit verbundenen Ziel­konflikten und Spannungs­feldern?

TRANSPARENZ: Wie belege ich meine Umsetzungs­schritte und schärfe mein Nachhaltig­keits­profil?

Kommunikation ist in den nächsten Jahren sowohl für einzelne Unter­nehmen als auch für ganze Branchen ein entschei­dender Treiber und Erfolgs­faktor auf dem Weg zur Klima­neutralität. Denn: Eine Kommunikations­strategie, die den unter­nehmerischen Kurs mit allen Ambitionen und Umsetzungs­heraus­forderungen konsequent an der neuen gesell­schafts­politischen Realität sowie den unter­schied­lichen Erwartungs­haltungen der relevanten Ziel­gruppen spiegelt, schafft Wett­bewerbs­vorteile:

AKZEPTANZ: Ein offen geführter ziel­gerichteter Dialog über Ziele und Umsetzungs­pfad schafft Goodwill bei der Politik und fördert Verständnis und Wert­schätzung in der Gesell­schaft – damit sichern Unternehmen ihre Social Licence to Operate und Handlungs­spiel­räume.

BEWEISKRAFT: Ein mit Proof­points belegbares Nachhaltigkeits­profil wappnet gegen Green-Washing-Vorwürfe und schafft Vertrauen – damit erschließen Unter­nehmen auch am Kapital­markt neue Finanzierungs­möglich­keiten im Rahmen von Green Investments.

AKTIVIERUNG: Planvolle Kommunikation und ziel­gerichtetes Change-Management binden Führungs­kräfte und Mitarbeiter:innen in die Gestaltung der Trans­formation ein und treiben einen oft not­wendigen Kultur­wandel an: weg vom tradierten Ingenieurs­denken, hin zu einem techno­logie­offenen und konsequent nach­haltigen Selbst­verständnis – damit stärken Unternehmen ihre Erneuerungs- und Innovations­kraft.

ATTRAKTIVITÄT: Eine glaubwürdige gesell­schafts­politische Verankerung und eine klare Roadmap mit spannenden, zukunfts­orientierten und inter­nationalen Projekten wecken die Neugier junger Talente für die „Reise“ in die klima­neutrale Zukunft – damit steigern Unter­nehmen ihre Reputation als Employer Brand.

Deekeling Arndt Advisors/AMO beschäftigt sich seit Jahren intensiv mit der Trans­formation von Unternehmen und Branchen in Zeiten gesell­schaftlicher und technolo­gischer Umbrüche – und zwar mit Blick auf deren Positionierung und Dialog­gestaltung im politischen und vor­politischen Raum, gegen­über Meinungs­führern und dem Kapital­markt sowie bei der Ansprache und Einbindung von Führungs­kräften, Beschäftigten und Mit­bestimmungs­gremien. Wir haben dabei umfassende Erfahrungen in der kommuni­kativen Beratung und Begleitung von Unter­nehmen aller Größen und verschiedener Branchen, darunter Energie, Chemie, Stahl, Automotive, Umwelt­technik und Verkehr.

Foto: iStock.com/kirisa99

Ansprechpartner

Olaf Arndt über Kommuni­kation als Erfolgs­faktor für den Pathway to Zero

weiterlesen
 

Der Pathway to Zero als neue Richt­schnur für politisches und wirt­schaftliches Handeln

weiterlesen
 

Civey-Umfrage: Potenziale von ESG in der Unter­nehmens­kommunikation oft ungenutzt

weiterlesen
 

Nachhaltigkeit als gemeinsame Mission

weiterlesen